South Beach, Marco Island

I played solo violin for a wonderful event on Marco Island last night! Daughter Sandra arranged to have her parents renew their vows. It was their annual family reunion on South Beach, Marco island. Although living in California, she was able to plan the event and keep it all a surprise! It was the 47th anniversary for the parents and it looked like the whole family was able to be there. The weather was perfect on this August evening. I am so glad I brought my beach umbrella to provide some shade as I performed the wedding music.

South Beach, Marco Island

Fellow vendors who were part of this celebration too were Phyllis, Officiant, of Weddings by Phyllis, Peggy Farren, Photographer, of Avant Garde Images  and Peter and Debbie, videographers, from Irberseder Films.  I don’t know who did the flowers but they were beautiful.

The guests began to arrive on the beach just before 6:00 pm. I played some classical pieces Sandra had told me she liked. When Phyllis walked onto the beach, I began to play Pachelbel’s Canon in D for the Entrance of the Family.  As Sandra’s Mother walked out with her brother, I played the Bridal Chorus. I  attached my mute to my instrument and continued to play softly throughout the ceremony. Sandra had requested these pieces: A Thousand Years, Bach Air, Bach  Arioso and Schubert’s Ave Maria. When the couple kissed and were announced to the guests, I concluded the ceremony with the traditional Wedding March.  As pictures were being taken afterwards, I played lively classical pieces such as Beethoven’s Ode to Joy; Handel’s Hornpipe, Vivaldi’s Spring; Handel’s Le Rejouissance, and Mozart’s Alleluia.  I completed my hour of performance and the family moved on to their dinner. Such a friendly happy group and  it was a pleasure to be a part of this special day!

 

 

Leave a Reply

