Captiva Island

I had the pleasure to play violin for the wedding of Rose Falcon and Rodney Atkins on Captiva Island on this second Sunday in November.  Rose and Rodney are both touring musicians so it was really an honor to be asked to provide the music for their wedding ceremony.  Kara Cardinal of KC Interiors and Events was the event planner, Charles Hutchins, the Officiate and Cher and Ed Hanna were the photographers.

Since both Rose and Rodney are country music recording artists, they wanted  it to be a very private affair so I felt I could not say much about to anyone prior to the event. In fact, Rose told me they changed their officiant because he had talked about them to his congregation. They did not want their fans to know any details. Here is a link to a video of an interview with them. http://www.billboard.com/video/rose-falcon-rodney-atkins-on-the-cma-awards-red-carpet-2013-5785519

The ceremony was originally going to take place in front of Tween Waters Inn but due to the beach re-nourishment going on, it was relocated down the beach in front of Castaways. It looked like their own private cove.

Captiva beach weddingIt was a cloudy evening with only a hint of breeze so the bugs were out in force. I am thankful to Rose’s father for sharing his bug spray with me!

Rose had two requests for prelude music, Wonderful Tonight and At Last. I filled in the remaining selections with The Very Thought of You, A Moment Like this, Unforgettable, Have I Told You Lately and It Had to Be You.

Rose planned a beautiful ceremony. She chose Can’t Help Falling in Love for the entrance of the family, Bridal Chorus for  her entrance, Hallelujah for the blessing of the rings and These Are My People for the recessional. This last song was one that Rodney recorded and was a hit for him. So, it made me a little nervous to play it in front of him. The fiddle part was not included in the sheet music so I had to figure it out by listening to his recording.  It was fun to learn and it worked out great! I think I saw Rose dance down the aisle a bit too! It made my day when one of the guests asked me to play it again.

It was a beautiful sunset and as the pictures were being taken, I sneaked in to meet the couple and offer my congratulations . It was a pleasure to meet them both and I wish them many years of happiness!

                                                                              Here is the story in People magazine  http://www.people.com/people/article/0,,20754810,00.html

Here is a very special note I received from Rose….
scan0002

Leave a Reply

