Naples Bay Resort

I have been by the Naples Bay Resort many times but had never played a wedding ceremony there. It is a beautiful venue with the pool and marina right there and a small room perfect for a smaller sized wedding reception. It is a peaceful and elegant setting.  There was a nice sense of privacy as the area had been closed off  for the private function and the beautiful shrubs offered a screen.  I was here to play violin solo for the wedding ceremony of Jayne and Colin from Chicago.

Naples Bay Resort wedding

It was great to work with Lynn Alexander, the coordinator at the Naples Bay Resort, Bob Mitchell of A Beautiful Florida Wedding , Mark Block of Naples Photography, and Dominick Buonantuono of Mobile Sound Entertainment.

I began to play lively classical music 15 minutes prior to the start of the ceremony. As Bob Mitchell led the wedding party down the aisle, I began to play Bach’s, Jesu Joy of Man’s Desiring. The Groom’s Mother was seated, and the Groom, Best Man and Maid of Honor took their places. As Jayne made her entrance with both her parents, I played the Clarke Trumpet Voluntary.

When I perform violin solo at weddings, I give the Bride the option of me playing softly throughout the ceremony and Jayne did like this idea.  I spoke with Bob prior to let him know this and he liked the idea too. So as the vows were spoken, rings exchanged and the sand ceremony performed,  I muted  my instrument and played slow classical pieces such as the Handel Air, Bach Arioso,  Vivaldi’s Largo, The Prayer, and Debussy’s Clair de Lune.  I could still hear Bob speaking so I knew I was not too loud. As Jayne and Colin made their kiss as husband and wife, I removed the mute and began to play Vivaldi’s  Spring as the wedding party made their way back down the aisle.

I continued to play as the guests mingled and pictures were being taken. Later as the guests went inside for the reception, someone from the balcony of a nearby condo called down to me that they had enjoyed it!  The guests on the nearby yacht started to applaud too!  It was a great feeling to have my music so appreciated.

Congratulations to Jayne and Colin. May you have many years of happiness ahead of you!

solo violinNaples Bay Resort WeddingThanks so much to Mark for these photos…

Leave a Reply

