Marco Island Marriott

Marco Marriott beach weddingOn this last Thursday in March, I headed down to Marco Island to perform violin solo for the beach wedding of Brenna and Jeffrey. It was a cool spring day with a strong breeze and sunny skies.  The Marco Marriott was vibrant with holiday guests and many were on the beach enjoying the day when I arrived.  The ceremony was set for 6:30 pm and I would be providing the music for the wedding ceremony and cocktail reception. Since I was playing by myself, I knew I didn’t have to wear black so I chose a cream lace top and teal suit. I discovered when I reached the beach, that the ties on the chairs were teal also!

Brenna and Jeffrey came from the east coast of Florida and were expecting approximately thirty guests.  The location was the southern end of the resort, Quinn’s beach, near the resort’s beach restaurant. After checking in with Alyssa, the resort’s coordinator,  I got to meet Jeffrey and I could tell he was excited. I was scheduled to begin at 6:15 but with many of their guests arriving on the beach at 6:00, I started to play the prelude music then.  I played several lively classical selections. When I saw Cathy Nelson, the Officiate, come out on the beach, I knew we were ready to begin. The Groom’s Parents and the Bride’s Mother made their way to their seats. With the appearance of the 2 Flower Girls, I began the processional music. They had on beautiful coral dresses. The music chosen for their entrance was the Mouret Rondeau.  Brenna followed them onto to the beach to the music,  Trumpet Voluntary. After the vows were spoken and rings were exchanged, the couple performed a sand mixing ceremony. The music they chose for this was Smile by Uncle Kracker. It was a special request and a fun song to learn!

After the ceremony, we just moved up the beach for the cocktail hour. It was going to be a beautiful sunset! I performed a mix of classical and pops music that focused on Strauss Waltzes, Beatles and Frank Sinatra songs. When Brenna arrived to the reception after their pictures, I played a special song for her and her dad, Isn’t She Lovely.  Cameras were flashing as they began an impromptu dance together. Brenna had told me her dad told her he remembered hearing this song when she born.

As it began to cool down, the guests made their way inside for dinner. I got to chat a bit with the newly married couple before they headed inside also. I wish for Brenna and Jeffrey many years of happiness as husband and wife!

Leave a Reply

