La Playa Gulf Lawn

It was unanimous. It could not have been a more perfect evening in Naples FL. All the guests at the La Playa Beach Resort agreed as the beach was lined with umbrellas. It was sunny, about 78 degrees and with the breeze, it was a calm and serene atmosphere. The gulf lawn was transformed into such a beautiful setting by Jessica James of Jessica James Events and the Garden District.  I loved how she differentiated the ceremony and the adjacent cocktail reception locations. The purple linens really stood out. I am joined at this destination wedding by colleagues Joan Stewart on violin and Julie Cornwall on cello. The Seaside String Trio is providing the ceremony and cocktail reception music.

La Playa gulf lawn wedding Seaside Strings Trio at La Playa ResortOur couple, Clare and Charlie were huge Beatles fans. They also requested music by Van Morrison and Coldplay. So, I have been busy over the last couple of months arranging new music . Some songs were hot off the presses as I wanted to make sure we had enough music.

As we were setting up, Anna Richardson and her assistant, Megan,  of Lucia Paul Design came by to touch base. As the wedding planners for this event , we had already been in contact via phone and email so it was nice to meet them both. We confirmed everything we had previously discussed and so we were all set.

As the guests began to arrive on the lawn, we began our selections. These included Have I Told You Lately, Yellow, Here There Everywhere, Brown Eyed Girl, Clocks, Something, From Me to You, and Eight Days a Week. We had just begun  to play Got to Get You Into My Life when I noticed the grandparents walking  forward. I could not see Anna or Megan so I guess the grandparents decided themselves it was time to be seated. We quickly changed music and began to play the song chosen for this, In My Life . The remaining grandparents were seated followed by the seating of the two mothers. Father Rick Ricardi led the wedding party onto the lawn to the song, I Will. As Clare made her entrance and the guests stood to welcome her , we played the song Here Comes the Sun. The timing worked beautifully for all the songs! I was so glad!

As the ceremony came to a conclusion and the newly married couple exited to the applause of their guests, we played  the song, All You Need is Love.

For the cocktail reception, our selections were Viva la Vida, And I Love Her, Into the Mystic, When I’m 64, Marry Me, Till There Was You, Crazy Love, All My Loving, Baby It’s You, All I’ve Got to Do, I’m Yours, Do You Want to Know a Secret, Penny Lane, Moondance, I’ll Follow the Sun, P.S. I Love You,  and Need You Now. After the stunning sunset, the guests moved on to the dinner. We concluded our evening with Just a Kiss Goodnight.

Congratulations and best wishes Clare and Charlie!

Leave a Reply

